A brief history lesson about the Belgium Open.

The first ever Belgian Open was played at the Royal Golf Club of Belgium, featuring 36 holes. It was not until 1928 that the competition format expanded to 72 holes. The first edition of the tournament was won by Arnaud Massy, the only Frenchman to win a major championship. Other distinguished champions included Walter Hagen, Henry Cotton, José María Olazábal, Nick Faldo and Lee Westwood. Belgium’s most successful 20th century golfer, Flory Van Donck, won his home open five times between 1939 and 1956.


In 2018, PietersProductions took over the organisation of the Belgian Open. After an absence of 18 years, they brought the Belgian Open back to the European Tour. The Belgian Open was reintroduced under the name Belgian Knockout.


The first edition of the Belgian Knockout, which is the 53rd edition of the Belgian Open, took place from 17 to 20 May 2018 at Rinkven International Golf Club, Schilde, Antwerp. In the final, the Spaniard Adrián Otaegui won against Frenchman Benjamin Hébert after four match days. David Drysdale took third place after winning against James Heath.


Below you can find all courses where the Belgium Open was held:

  • Koninklijke GC van België – Ravenstein (1910-1911, 1921-1923, 1928, 1930, 1932, 1935, 1948, 1958, 1978)
  • Lombardsijde GC (1913)*
  • Royal Antwerp (1914, 1925, 1929, 1954)
  • Royal Zoute (1912, 1920, 1924, 1926-1927, 1937, 1950, 1992-1994, 1998-2000)
  • Royal Fagnes-Spa (1931, 1933, 1936, 1939, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1955)
  • Royal Waterloo (1934, 1938, 1946, 1953, 1979, 1987, 1989-1991)
  • Royal Latem (1951, 1956-1957)
  • Golf du Bercuit (1988)
  • Rinkven international golf club (2018)

*Lombardsijde was a renowned course situated in the dunes of Lombardsijde, near Nieuwport and Oostende however it no longer exists as a result of War in the previous century. The West Golf Centre is now located here.